(Lack of) Dog Rant

So apparently I’m not even allowed to have a dog in my apartment without telling my landlord. Seriously. I don’t own a dog. I was never allowed a pet growing up so I wouldn’t know the first thing about  what to do with any sort of pet. Also, with three kids, who in their right mind would accuse me of actually owning a dog? I’ll admit, I’ve “babysat” my fiance’s dog a few times in the past year and a half, but I didn’t think anything of it. The dog is old; the dog is quiet; the dog is friendly and the dog sleeps so much I just don’t have to worry about her when I did.

Well, apparently somebody in my apartment complex decided I owned a dog and “complained” about me owning a dog when I’m not allowed. Ok. That’s cool and all, except, well… I DON’T OWN A DOG! NEVER HAVE!

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not a dog-hater. I love animals. All animals. Especially if they’re friendly and/or cute. Most especially both. It’s just that the accusation is unjustified!

Now, if my fiance and I were living together, it would be a valid accusation, but as stated before, he has a different living space, so it is not just unreasonable. It’s dumb.

Besides, even if I did, there are so many other people that own dogs, cats, and various other animals in the whole complex and they haven’t gotten in trouble, so why me? I haven’t done anything wrong. I follow the rules. I turn in my rent on time, along with every other bill. I keep my place clean and my children as quiet as they’re going to be when they’re under five years old.

So seriously?

I have half a mind to go to my landlord and ask why I have to notify them everytime I “babysit” a dog, because it seems ridiculous. Especially when it’s on short notice or at a moment in time that I wouldn’t be able to notify them. Like the weekend.

I guess it’s a good thing that I’ve almost got enough money to move out of my apartment. Keyword: almost. It’ll probably still be about a month. Gah.

Comments Are Greatly Appreciated, Thanks!

